Using Windows Home Server

All about Windows Home Server, the Digital Home and Security.

Archive for March 7th, 2009

Installing the Grid Junction Add-In to Windows Home Server on a Friday night

with 5 comments

Equipment required:

1 Universal Power Supply (a UPS supported by Grid Junction)

1 USB cable

2 Beers (optional)

Anders Holst playing on iTunes (again optional)

I have been using the Grid Junction add-in since last year with excellent results. A new version was released Tuesday, and since I must uninstall the old version first, I thought I would walk you through the easy setup before I retire to the couch and the three episodes of Stargate Atlantis awaiting me on my DVR.

I was fortunate enough to have purchased a UPS from a national US retailer (RIP CC) that Grid Junction supported for only $29.99 on sale. If you look around at the discount websites (Techbargains, FatWallet etc.) you can find these good deals every few months. Honestly, I never thought I would use a UPS communications interface, but since USB is now the standard, it connects quite easily. This Add-In is very user-friendly.

The graphic below shows a partial list of supported UPS models:

http://www.gridjunction.com/gridjunction-supported-uninterruptible-power-supply

Supported UPS Models for Grid Junction 

The wife just hopped in the shower so I have about 20 minutes for this article. Crap. I tend to be longwinded.

My UPS unit is the pretty much the lowest model you can get with a USB interface. It can still run my WHS long enough to withstand temporary power outages and brownouts.

The coolness factor weighs in heavily for this purchase as does the manufacturer. Choose your model wisely Luke.

I bought the APC 550 (coolness factor –2.783) as shown below:

http://www.apc.com/resource/include/techspec_index.cfm?base_sku=BE550R&tab=features

Mental Note: Next time buy a larger UPS that looks like the Death Star or at least a small RV (caravan).

APC 500

I wish I could say mine looks like that, but somehow I misread the APC installation directions and ended up with this:

APC Mess of Wires

Ok, so regardless of whatever supported UPS you have in the box next to you, it is time to start the installation. Grab that beverage.

You should have a UPS sitting on the floor awaiting installation, a cold beverage, a USB cable (probably in the UPS box) and a WHS humming in the background.

Shut your server down. Yeah, I hate those words too. Seriously you have to turn it off. Seriously. Follow the manufacturer guidelines. Do not shut down if data is copying or your backup is running. Do I really need to say that? Lather. Rinse. Repeat. Not for internal use. Seriously don’t do it.

Has the humming stopped?

I will be gentle. Trust me. Once you have the UPS installed and installed turning the system off again will not be necessary. Trust me. I promise. This will be like Prom Night. Of course I love you. The hook in the back is stuck. Does it open from the front?

Once you have everything powered off spend a few minutes and route your wiring logically so you do not end up with a mess like I have above.

Once all of your power connections has been re-established, reboot your WHS system and wait for the little green house.

I just heard the hot water turn off so I have about 15 minutes left. Crap.

Download the add-in from the website listed below:

http://www.gridjunction.com/

You will probably have to set up an account (or enter your existing login information) for the website that controls the download so be prepared to enter your login data as necessary.

Download Grid Junction

Save the file to the Software>Add-Ins folder on your server.

Add-Ins Folder in WHS

Open the WHS console and click on settings. Choose Add-Ins on the left hand column and you will see the Grid Junction Add-In. Click on “Install”. If you do not see the Add-In then you probably saved the file to the wrong folder or did not unzip the folder correctly. Spend a few minutes and reflect on the above steps.

Available Add-Ins in Windows Home Server

Once installed, the Add-In should pick up the UPS manufacturer data and list your “Battery name” correctly. You can now switch tabs between Events, Actions, Hardware, Settings and About.

Image 7

My wife is done drying her hair and this is the last Ander Holst song. I have to finish quickly.

I would suggest (without any liability) changing the Shutdown to 50%. Depending on your load and the battery size you may not have a lot of run time. My unit gives me about 3 minutes at full load.

Image 8

You are done with the Add-In. Check the About tab to ensure you have the current version of 1.4.0.0 RC

 Image 9

You have now completed the installation. Go and get that second beverage (I wish I had the small fridge) and marvel at your power.

If you need real installation instructions you can find them at http://www.gridjunction.com/

See you next Friday.

Written by Timothy Daleo

March 7, 2009 at 10:36 pm

Why You Should Always Run Anti Virus Software and Firewalls

with 6 comments

Earlier today I was sitting in the lounge of a major International airport and I connected my computer up to their free Internet service, via a wired connection, which is provided to all visitors of the lounge.

Literally within minutes my computer was being attacked, and fortunately I am running both Anti Virus software and a Firewall, which meant in this case, the attack was blocked. The software I am running also performs continual updates which means as long as I have a connection to the Internet I am updated with whatever updates and definition files are available.

Even so, I decided to remove my computer from their network as it was badly configured and unprotected!

The moral of the story is this, no matter where you are, no matter if you think your computer will be safe, always, always, always make sure that you are protected as best as possible. And always think before connecting to an unknown network, even if you would think that something provided by a reputable airline would be safe.

Written by Andrew Edney

March 7, 2009 at 2:55 am

Posted in Security

Tagged with , , ,